2nd Song from the one man band that is me!- Please pick it apart and give me tips!

HDWR

Sep 16, 2009
Tallahasse, FL. USA
Hello all!

I've been doing lots of reading and studying and figured it was time to post an example to get some feedback and direction from everyone. I did all of it from the ground up so it's all open for suggestion and criticism. Apart from the guitar solo. That is beyond reproach! :Smug: I kid: It's garbage and I know it. I'm really a drummer. I'd love to have a guest soloist or 2 on this. There are spots for 2 solos.

The particulars:

It's a 7 string Ibanez RG with Blackouts and relatively fresh strings, Countryman, into a (Korg) tube pre, Double tracked TSE for rhythm tracks. XTAC for the clean/solo. Tone is pretty squelchy towards the end but it was somewhat deliberate.

5 String Ibanez for bass. Actually 3 tracks at 40L Center 40R with XTAC for a little crunch on the panned tracks bumped 3ms ahead for depth. Played with the phase to get it somewhat right.

The drum are me on an electronic kit into an Alesis Trigger I/O triggering Slate (of course). I mixed 3 snares together. Dream Snare, Black Snare and Old Zep 1 I think it was? Metal Toms and the Black kick. Used a little post processing to shape it up and glue it together. All the cymbals are real. Zildjian A Customs. CAD M177 as overheads. SM57 on the hats. The ride sounds like ass... It's just not Metal. It's too light. Zildjian 20" K Custom Dry Complex Ride.

I used Nebula 3 extensively on this. The AlexB SSL models in particular. Also the Waves SSL channel here and there and the SSL Comp on the 2 Bus along with Ozone preset CD Master tweaked for the song. Mastering by preset = Awesome right? :lol: