Absolute beginner

Fael

Feb 28, 2010
Hi guys. I've been a lurker in this forum for some days and I'm really really impressed at what you guys are doing.

I've already got a Tascam US122L USB interface, Cubase LE4 DAW and all sorts of VSTs (Revalver MKIII, iZotope Trash, every single Acmebargig VST, etc).
However, I just don't know where to start to get professional sounding tracks. I'm particularly amazed by this thread: http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/...rs-band-sd2-0-impulses-panic-room-master.html

I love metal but my band is more on the radio rock/indie side.

Are there any books, tutorials, documents, etc to get me started? And once I get to an intermediate level, what? Are there books to get to pro level too?

I don't care how much I have to read... I just want to get knowledge.

Maybe striving for an Andy Sneap mix is too high for me. I just want to sound good enough to be on a commercial record (I ain't selling my music, I'm doing it for the love of the art)

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Also, I'm poor. I have to do everything digitally. I cannot afford any more hardware. I forgot to mention that I've got a ST51 Sterling Audio condenser mic

Do what I did and go and read most of the threads in the Production Tips section of this forum.
I know it sounds absurd to read that much but you'll learn a lot. After that you need to apply the theory to real world applications, which is the really hard part

I just re-read my post. By absolute beginner I mean totally and completely 100% beginner.

I know general stuff like I should always double track guitars and pan them on opposite sides (is this even true?). Parallel compression on drums is desirable (ditto). And that's about it.

I'm looking for info on how to sound pro. But I need advice on every instrument and voice. I need advice on VST usage (preferable the ones I've already mentioned) and on DAW stuff.

Hell, I need advice on how to ask for advice 'cause I don't even know what to look for!