acoustic vs. production/live non-acoustic II

nomana-nuniyan

Heyoka watching Trona
Sep 18, 2003
directly under Ben
Visit site
Most everyone here are musicians, right?

Lately, our rock station here has been playing a lot of acoustic material that they've recorded from bands that come through town and stop in there to interview and play. It's the best work i think i've ever heard, far better than their recorded/produced/live non-acoustic material. For bands that seem to be just another regular rock band, it really shows just how talented they are and why they're where they are. My opinion.
Do you find with your own work it's the same? Do you find you like your work much better while writing it and playing for your friends at home? Or do you prefer it after it's recorded, or worked out for non-acoustic shows?

hehe, nice one trona!

Well, i'm not a musician even though i do sing, but that doesn't do much in this content. Anyways, i like acoustic stuff. I enjoyed Antimatters acoustic gigs very much, it gave a somehow natural feeling. That doesn't mean i don't like the other, album versions. But i like different interpretations of a song, it shows the potential of the material.
When it comes to acoustic gigs or albums i have to say that it has to to have some diversity. Without it can get easily boring imo. I do prefer a variation of mellow and peppy songs.
Bambi has a point though taking his post of the other thread. It can be made more interesting by adding other instruments or features when you produce it in a studio like.

Disclaimer: I'm no musician either.