any tips on this mix?

melovine

Feb 10, 2009
ok so i am new to mixing and im recording one of my friends bands and trying to learn about the mixing process as i go, i replaced the kick and snare with superior drummer samples and the guitars are going through guitar rig 3. i know not the most ideal setup but im trying to help these guys out with what gear i do have.

ive been learning alot and im trying to put it into use any help would be apreciated,

heres a clip of the project.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=980812&songID=9330409

Guitars and kick could come up a bit in volume and, at least during that clean part in the beginning, the bass is too loud, but it could probably be quieter in the whole mix and could use a little more bottom end. Try boosting between 60-80 hz. I dig the relatively natural/loose feel this mix has, but I think the snare could be thicker and roomier. Try boosting some lower mids on the snare, maybe between 250-300 hz, and add a little more reverb. This song has a deftones kind of feel imo and you're definitely heading in the right direction.

thank you very much man i will get on it as soon as i can and post a revised version any tips on how to get the volume of the kick to come up, ive got it near peaking and its still just too weak.

thank you very much man i will get on it as soon as i can and post a revised version any tips on how to get the volume of the kick to come up, ive got it near peaking and its still just too weak.

turn everything else down.

IMO if parts of the mix are peaking or almost peaking and it's still weak, it's a sign that your mix is running too hot as it is...IMHO.

I usually have my kick fader around -4 to -7dB and then the drum buss at around -6 to -8 dB with the whole mix PEAKING at around -6dB.

but even I when solo the kick it just feels week, which is confusing to me because its just the superior drummer sample, any ideas? maybe some parallel compression?