Anyone Like Kayaking?

I've always wanted to go. Yesterday I was down by the Rocky River (right behind my apartment building) watching kayakers.

Did you see any floating bodies? I mean it was the Chicago River..... :heh:
(yes, I actually am aware that they are cleaning it up, and it is definately on the rebound....)

LOL'ing at Q's potential reaction to snake infestation......

Just went kayaking for the first time yesterday! What a great and relaxing experience! I'm about to leave to go again right now. Anyone like kayaking or canoing?

Here are some pics of my first experience:

http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/ind....viewPicture&friendID=6773654&albumId=1925661

I worked as a summer camp counselor for a few years while in college, so I kayaked quite a bit then. It was actual white water kayaking too and not this lame sea/touring kayaking stuff! You have to take several classes, train for several weeks in pools etc. before you are turned loose in a river. At one point, I got to where I could do a complete rollover, but most of the time I would just panic and bail out! :lol: I was a little more fearless during those days, but you probably couldn't pay me to get in one now. I guess I just get a little more "scared" in my 30's than I did in my early 20's.

~Brian~

I love kayaking - just wish I lived somewhere where there was decent kayaking to be had. I've done both river (Oregon) and sea kayaking (off the coast of Antigua) and while my adventures haven't been of the major whitewater variety that edgeofthorns mentions above, I wouldn't count out sea kayaking so quickly as providing a bit of a challenge... fighting the ocean current as you make your way around the tip of an island is no walk in the park. :lol:

It was actual white water kayaking too and not this lame sea/touring kayaking stuff!

~Brian~