asgeir

ErikSL

groove junkie
Feb 11, 2006
i know your the "occasional drummer", but does it bother you that inferior drummers are more well known then you? When compared to some of the acclaimed metal drummers, like mike portnoy, flo mournier, etc...I think your a lot more seasoned, especially after hearing a skeptics universe and origin. And your work on Vintersorg albums is beautiful. Maybe your just happy being that drummer...on special occasions.:)

Good question. Thing is, I'm not THAT interested in being a drummer. I'm a drummer when I'm behind a kit but that's pretty much it (I play guitar more than drums.) There are a zillion drummers who's better than me and that's fine. I don't care because I don't practice drums much - and never did. There's a joke in Norway (from Scream Magazine) that I'm the best drummer in the world - and it's all irony (I love irony). It would of course be nice if I was the best drummer in the world but I've never had that ambition. I'm more focused about being creative than being able to play fast or do show-off stuff... I want to play what a song needs to make it perfect and then ad just the little extra to make it special. Neil Peart (Rush) is great at that, so when I recorded the new Ihsahn album I thought "What would Neil Peart do?".

Sadly enough some people think that best drummer/guitarist/singer or whatever is something you base on what they can play,which is completely stupid. I judge a musician based on what he comes up with,not what he can play.That´s why i think a drummer like for example Mournier is way overrated.Take a drummer like Nicke Andersson for example,his technical skills aren´t that extraordinary,but listen to Clandestine and you´ll know what i mean. And i´d say Asgeir is pretty far up there when it comes to coming up with good stuff by the way :).