Audio Aspirations

BL1NDSIDE-J

Dec 19, 2010
Hi guys, I'm new to this forum and have noticed that the people here seem knowledgeable and helpful with learning about Audio Engineering, unlike alot of other sites packed full of kids who really don't know shit about the subject. I have only recently began to take interest in the subject which I guess was inevitable considering my insatiable love for and desire to create music. While I consider myself a decent musician I have very little actual engineering knowledge and have decided to take the plunge and learn! This is where you come in! I have read the stickies and decided to consult you guys for advice about where to begin. I'm up for info about anything including sites and books that are considered "standard" and everything else including gear and standard industry practices. Thanks in advance.

Your probably going to get more help if you ask more specific question. I don't even know what gear to recommend because I have no idea what you intend to try and do with it, see what I mean? I would also argue that there aren't really "industry standard practices" there are very few things that everyone does the same, every studio has an engineer at the helm and no engineer is the same.

Okay well for starters, I would like to read up so if you know any books that are really useful that would be great. I plan to record using reaper since it is free. I am currently reading it's huge manual. I would like to stay completely in the box, because it seems more cost effective, unless it hampers quality in some way.

Reaper's a good start, although it isn't free. There is a license you must purchase, but don't let that negate you.

I was in your shoes not too long ago. But really, there are no books to tell you anything in particular about what you want to record and how to record it. You're better off learning as much as you can from this forum.