Bass Tips Anyone?

harryhash

Lazy Bastard
Jan 14, 2006
Gold Coast, Australia
Okay, so yes I'm new to the bass so I can't expect to be great straight away. But I was wondering if anyone out there has any tips that really helped them along when they were starting out...

I love my metal, and instead of learning the stuff my mates do (like the White Stripes and Greenday) I've jumped in headfirst into Children of Bodom (which I can sorta play, although nowhere near the speed that they do), Cradle Of Filth, DevilDriver, the heavier System Of A Down, Mudvayne and I've even had a crack at The Funeral Portrait (Opeth). Basically I wanna push the learning curve to the limit so I end up better when it comes to playing the music that I love. Keeping that in mind, what tricks are there to becoming an awesome metal bassist? Are there any shortcuts or is it just keeping the nose to the grindstone?

Cheers heaps (and I apologise for the rambling, I was out partying all night last night).

Nose to the grindstone.

Also, don't just learn Metal - learn other styles, too. You'll find that it will open your playing in the different techniques you'll pick up.

^^yup. Learning funk (slap) bass is essential to play a few Opeth songs :)

sumairetsu said:
Nose to the grindstone.

Also, don't just learn Metal - learn other styles, too. You'll find that it will open your playing in the different techniques you'll pick up.
Fair enough point. I never really considered that...

LadyValerie said:
^^yup. Learning funk (slap) bass is essential to play a few Opeth songs
I was gonna ditch learning slap bass because of my brother's obsession with the Red Hot Chilli Peppers (he plays it so damn much I can't stand it any more) but if Opeth plays it then it must rule :D

Vital Remains said:
use your fingers. its hard but it pays off. ive seen it many times
So I shouldn't worry about picking? I've been doing it alot because its faster, but if you say so...sure thing...