Can someone help me ?

osse87

Feb 6, 2003
Bergen, Norway
Visit site
All of this is focused on the heavy parts only.

I've got a serious problem. I only like Blackwater Park and My Arms, Your Hearse, maybe some on Still Life. I feel like on the other albums their sound is basically fast bass drums and a riff. That's it. The songs actually feel "empty" and "weak". Like it's full of millisecond holes or something. It sounds like BWP and MAYH have a steady "flow".

Maybe it's Martin Lopez's use of hi-hats on BWP and MAYH that does the trick, I don't know. Does someone noticed the same or can give me an explination ?

And yes, I'm a metal newbie. I'm a music newbie !!! I don't know any fancy expressions or anything like that. And it's hard for me to explain the problem above to you guys.

Dreamlord said:
No shit, Dr. Watson.

ROFLMFAO

Ok, to me you are liking Opeths heavier, darker, less-progish works. It's just your taste in music. Taste for some good swedish progressive death is an accuired one. You have to let it grow on you. ;)

hmm, well you should listen all cds and try to understand the concept of the songs. all songs are something special, you'll get the felling if you'll listen more. i like every their song, actually i love them. my advise to you is, when you listen opeth, you mustn't do nothing else, concentrate on the music.... and hell yes martin lopez is great drummer!!!

Hopkins-WitchfinderGeneral said:
Well, maybe your expecting too much. The stuff you don't like seems to be the more classic metal. Try listening to the music, rather than the arrangment. The riffs are amaing and the structures unique.

Opeth is a good place to start btw...
As mentioned, I'm a newbie. So what do you mean by classic metal ?