Complete noob

Goldhunter27

New Metal Member
May 31, 2009
I want to finally put the money into getting a nice rig. I've always been very skimpy on my gear and am suffering for it now. My ideal sound is the euro-metal, In Flames-Clayman sound. I currently own a 5150 that's not in the best shape. The pots crackle like hell and I don't think it's ever been retubed. My cabinet got stolen so I'm in the market for a new one and I'm thinking about The Framus Cobra 4X12.

http://www.bostonguitar.com/Merchan...e=AM-FRAM-SP-COBRA-4X12&Category_Code=AM-FRAM

So my question really is, being a total tone noob, what should I do? My ideal answer would be a run down of everything I need to get to make that sound somewhat of a reality for me. From the 5150 to Cab to whatever pedals I might need to the last cord.

Also, is FJA Mods something I should think about? I've read a lot people talk about how great his stuff is.

Well the 5150 would be your amp, he was talking about cabs ;) (and I agree, Framus cabs aren't very highly regarded, especially for their retarded prices in the US)

AFAIK Harley Bentons aren't available in the US, though - and Goldhunter, I assume that's where you're based out of since you linked to the above page, so for anyone in the US a used Mesa Rectifier Standard (Oversized) cab is without a doubt the best bet; they go for ~$500 all the time on craigslist for examples in great condition! (they're awesome cabs, it's just that there are so goddamn many of them out there they don't hold their value, which is great for us! :D)

I'd suggest a Mesa oversized cab or even a traditional cab. The oversized is probably better but the traditional is still great.

I'd also take your 5150 to a tech and get it serviced, as it might end up cheaper than buying a new one. If you're after that Clayman sound, there is no other amp out there for you other than the 5150/6505 series! They sound amazing, and are very cheap in comparison to what other amps are out there.