DEATHRIDERS featured in RockinforM Magazine, Hungary March 2010 issue

M1

Threatcon Delta Force
Feb 12, 2002
New York
Visit site
RockinforM Magazine Hungary March 2010 Issue - 2 Page Feature DEATH RIDERS Interview

DEATHRIDERS - THE NEWEST THRASH ATTACK! Interview by BANFALVI AKOS Photography by JUSTICE HOWARD
- Neil, thank you for agreeing to do this interview! Can you give readers a little background on yourself? Has music always been so important for you?
One day when I was thirteen, ice hockey suddenly became less important and music took its place. I started playing in my first band The NEWRACE, performing at venues such as CBGB’s, Max’s Kansas City and Great Gildersleeve’s at fifteen. Then after The NEWRACE broke-up, I joined a band called AMRA in 1982, which was a progressive metal/hard rock band. I had 5 years of writing songs and playing clubs in NYC before I eventually joined Anthrax in the Summer of 1982.
- Who do you think your biggest influences are musically?
Growing up in NYC, I was a big fan of Accept, Riot, Saxon, Motörhead, Thin Lizzy, AC/DC, KISS, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and of course great metal vocalists like Dio, Halford, DiAnno and Dickinson. They really inspired me in the early eighties. Nowadays I also listen to bands such as Hibria, Nocturnal Rites, Kreator, Destruction and too many other great bands to list.
- You were the first powerhouse vocalist of thrash metal and original lead singer of Anthrax. How did you get hooked up with Anthrax in 1982? Overall, how would you describe your time as a member of Anthrax? Do you look back on it all with a certain fondness?