"Dimebag" Darrell Abbott

Oct 20, 2005
UK
It's coming close to it being a year since Dimebag passed away, I would just like to see what people have to say about the amazing guitarist. Please leave your comments. Personally I loved Dime, still do, he was an amazing influential guitarist and a beautiful funny person, well from what I've seen and heard. R.I.P. Dime you will always be in our hearts.

Dimebag ruled:worship:
Pantera were the first band I ever saw (supporting Megadeth @ Hammersmith, London). The next day I bought "Cowboys From Hell" and "Vulgar Display Of Power" and was completely hooked. Pantera were my favourite band for years and I went to see them several more times. As a guitarist I worshipped Dimebag and definitely rated him as the greatest guitarist around. Some of my proudest moments have been learning Dimebag's solos note-for-note. In fact, the first band I ever played with made "Fuckin' Hostile" our first attempted cover song.

The last time I saw Dimebag perform was at Download with Damageplan. Then I met him the next day at The Metal Hammer Awards (albeit briefly). He was extremely drunk at this event and (unintentionally?) really funny. A few weeks after this and he was gone!
The world is definitely worse-off for losing Dimebag. I'm sure he'll remain one of metal's (and the guitar-world's) greatest icons for many years to come:headbang:

Weakness said:
Only the good die young.. A true legend who will be missed for generations to come..

I loved what you said. :)

Pantera was the first metal band I listened, too bad I was too young to go to their shows here in Argentina, so...
That day I arrived to Buenos Aires to see the G3 Tour and I went to a cyber coffee to check my e-mails with a couple of friends who travelled from Uruguay to see the show too. So I log in in here and I saw a post where it said: RIP Dimebag and I thought: God damn Gunhaver! ('cause he always flamed Pantera and stuff) and well... you know the rest.