First rehearsal-records

KHE

Mar 5, 2009
switzerland
Hi everyone,
after a lot of reading here, this is my first post. absolutly awesome what your guys are doing! :) now, my band try to record some band-rehearsals.
We equip our rehearsal with some recoring-stuff. The goal is to made some demo-records for us (caputring ideas ect).
Im new in the recording-buissnes, so i would like to get some feedback of my work.
Here ist he first song im working on, but be prepared, it sounds absolutly horrible compared to all other mixes here... :D
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5298811/2010-06-03_M1.wav

The whole band played together, i just hit the record-button while practising. It`s a very new one, so please excuse the sloppy playing (there are a lot of errors) ;)

Technical details:
Guitars were recorded from amplifiers Line-out, fitted with a IR-response. Some LP/HP.
Bass from amplifiers line-out with some compression and eq.
Drums are all „real“, no replacing / sampling. Some comp and eq over them. I know, some of the toms are horrorbly out-of-tune…

Equipment:
Mixer / Interface is a Phonic Helix24 USB / FW-Interface. Drum-mics are a cheap samson 7-kit 2 sm75 on top/bottom of the snare . Guitaramps: Recto and a Laboga Mr. Hector. 7-String-Guitars, standart-tuning

What do you think about the mix? Any feedback is welcome!

If someone would like to mix this song by its own, here are the tracks: (350mb) would be very cool if someone takes some time and shows me what is possible with this tracks!
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5298811/2010-06-03_tracks.rar

I`m new into the recording-buissnes, so i have nearly no idea what im doing ;) I`m shure i`ve done all the misstakes and no-go`s for recording. if you hear or see some of them, please let me know ;)

I know we have a lot to practisie because our crappy playing, and our recording-equipment isn`t that good.
again, the goal is not to create "studio-like" recordings, only some good demo-records for us.