Guitar lesson material?

tgs

Elder
Just got my new guitar and since I've mostly been cheating when it comes to playing for the past 20 years, I was thinking that maybe it's about time I improved a bit. I usually find myself altering between Anthrax and Darkthrone riffs when I get my hands on a guitar and I'm a bit tired of it.

Does anyone have any tips about learning material for someone who is not a TOTAL beginner? I realize I probably have to take 20 steps back and learn some proper technique, but I also don't really need to learn how to play a G major. Also, I guess I'd be leaning more towards ROCK guitar rather than metal.

All tips are welcome! If it's something available online: brilliant. If it's free, even better! Although that's not a requirement.

Songs off Pleasure to Kill are really fun, and if you concentrate on playing them with good right hand form then they are great practice too.
So are Mastodon songs and they full of straight up rock riffs as well.
No idea if that's the sort of thing you're looking for though...

Not exactly, it's kind of what my approach has been so far, playing along with albums and such. What I'd REALLY like to do is to just grab a guitar and play some proper blues or something.

I've always been comfortably hiding behind heavy distortion. Enough of that for now, I want to know how to play for real. ;)

I'll leave that to you then, my advice would probably only help in making your guitar playing sound like a spastic hairdryer anyway :lol:

The only advice I have to offer is the advice I wish someone had given me when I first started learning guitar. Don't bother learning other songs in order to get better, just try and translate what you hear in your head to your guitar because that (in my opinion) is the best way to learn guitar.

Having said that, if you head over to www.ultimate-guitar.com they have plenty of helpful lessons that range from absolute beginner to advanced.

Hope that helps