Guitar Pre Amp Suggestions?

benjy

Jun 8, 2012
Hey dudes, I am currently in the market for some new recording gear. I have a studio project similar to acts like Being as an ocean, climates, counterparts, napoleon, etc hardcore stuff. I have been looking into to pre amps because I cannot rip a real amp in my small room. Any suggestions on what to purchase. I have heard good things about the engl e350. Open to all opinions I am just sick of completely plugin based guitar tones, not my cup of tea. Thanks!
Side note: I am running Logic Pro 9 on a fully upgraded 2012 MacBook Pro with a focusrite pro interface. Thanks again.

I have a Peavey Rockmaster for practicing. It sounds good through my practice amp. I tried Rockmaster -> interface -> Revalver's power amp sim -> various cab impulses and got ok sounds, but nothing I ended up using in my mix.

Haven't tried the Engl e530 but the demos on youtube sounded pretty good.

Whatever preamp you get, remember that in addition to the preamp, the power amp and cab/mic/room make up a large part of the final sound. So if you get just the preamp, you may still need plugins to simulate the rest.

To my ears, amp heads alone have been well virtualized. The real shortfall is in the cab/mic/room simulation. Cab resonances, woof and thump, room reflections, harmonic distortion of the speakers, etc. seem to require a lot more complexity to model. Cab impulses only go so far, Nebula takes a lot of CPU.

If you have the money for a Kemper Profiling Amp, that would cover it all.

Thanks for the info! Ill check out kemper. there are a lot of good vibes coming from engl users. I have thought about reamping one through like an orange ppc212 to finalize but idk. Hopefully more people will chime in. I'm just not a huge fan of pod farm and other things like lepou.

Yea I checked out the price! Not possible for me :/ it has rad reviews but as a 17 year old with a minimum wage jab and other expenses that is waaaaayyyyy to much haha