Hello and Guitar Mixing question

Ken6800

New Metal Member
Jan 12, 2005
Hello, and boy was I glad to find the man responsible for some of the best sounding metal albums ever had a website with a FORUM!!!!

I would like to ask a question about mixing if I may, bearing in mind that I am a rank newbie with a Line 6 POD and very little experience LOL.

The question is about guitar mixing. I am having a real problem at the moment- what I am doing is using the Line 6 Insane setting, give or take, panning one guitar hard left and 50% to the right and the same for the other in mirror. Was hoping to try and get that Killswitch Engage sound but have failed miserably, everything just sounds muddy and I dont know what to do. All the tracks are at the same volume.

Could you please help me out here chaps? How do you get that great sound that so many NWOAHM bands like Chimaira, Killswitch, God Forbid, Lamb of God, Unearth and so on in your mix? Keeping in mind this is for my band and I am really trying to preserve that separate guitar for each ear feel to it!

Thanks very much for your time!

Ken6800 said:
panning one guitar hard left and 50% to the right and the same for the other in mirror.

What do you mean with one guitar hard left and 50% right?
You need two guitars to do this. So four guitars in the sum.

Panning one signal hard left and (copied or routed to a second mixer channell) hard right is only a more complex way to pan this signal in the center...
If you increase the volume of right side the phantom source moves to the center.

Let me elaborate, I have guitar one and guitar two.

Guitar one is recorded with two takes and two separate tracks.

Same for guitar two.

Hence, yes 4 guitars I suppose, is that what you mean?

Sorry for the newbie questions, I realise a lot of you are professionals- thanks for taking the time!

Sigh... LOL okay lets start again because I am getting confused now!