Help me choose a mid-priced electric guitar.

NAD

What A Horrible Night To Have A Curse
Jun 5, 2002
Kandarian Ruins
Well, the title sums it up. I want something with a warm tone with good playability.

Guitars I like that I've played:
Jackson Kelly (feel)
Ibanez Satriani (feel)
Gibson SG (TONE!!!)
Gibson Les Paul (both, but fuck me they're pricey)

Don't really want to get over $1,000, any suggestions? Otherwise I'm off to the pawn shop to find some beater.

(for those that don't know I've been playing bass for about 12 years so I'm not looking for a learner/intro guitar, cheers)

$1,000 is "mid-priced!?"

Well, I'm going by others advice since my guitar is more in the $300 range, but if you love the Gibson Les Paul but don't want to pay the price, you should probably take a real good look at the Epiphone Les Pauls. It's not like they're not quality instruments, far from it really...

Not the price argument again... :p I want to spend about $600, but will go up to a grand if worth it.

I've never played an Epiphone, but I take it they are not Gibson's Squier then? Do they retain that fat Gibson tone?

Don't ask me, I'm really not an expert on the subject, but I'd try them. They have slightly cheaper woods, probably not the same pickups, etc, but as far as feel goes they're Les Paul. Play one and see if you like it. I think the real Gibsons must be overpriced a fair bit for the name.

My guitar except its black. Jacksons are fantastic. This thing is durable as hell too. I could kill and Ogre with its edges and it would still play in tune.

511662.jpg

Oh... Don't get an SG. They're ugly. :loco:

Now THIS is a BEAUTIFUL guitar which I would VERY MUCH purchase if I had money I didn't know what else to do with:

69543.jpg

Epiphone '58 Explorer... Drool. It should be red though.

Or an early 80's Ibanez Destroyer...
b7_12_sb.JPG