I use 6 string guitars, passive pickups, standard tuning and 9s. Am I gay?

Oct 16, 2010
Uk
So yeah, just a general consensus.

Just wondering if I'm on my own here... ?

And also, I'm just fucking bored, stuck on my lonely ass on a Friday night.

Only because of the string gauge! My main axe is a tele in E string 10-46, with singles. I have one axe with EMG's and one I'm going to be putting a p-90 style set in... horses for courses.

I use a G&L Strat with singles.. and a set of 10's in Eb... so you are def. not alone on the not using EMGs

Hahaha wow. A very conclusive stance on my choice of strings!

I use 9s for a few reasons... Mainly, 'cos of floating bridges. I can't really be fucked to set-up my guitars again and also, I'm a shredder, and light strings equals good in my opinion.

I do use hybrids on my fixed bridge guitar. Ideally, I'd use hybrids on all of them, I'll get round to that some day.

I've been playing guitar for like 15 years and 10s still hurt my poor little fingers :p

And my acoustic has 13s on, and I struggle to barre some chords 'cos of the tension.

I'd take playability over tone any day.

I do have a rather nice set of limited edition EMG 81s (nice and shiny silver). I stuck them in my bro's Ibanez RG 'cos I didn't really have any other guitars that needed upgrading.

I got it back from him the other day, he rarely plays. The whole thing looks like shit now. Looking forward to giving it a make over and rewiring the fucked selector switch.

I'm also very keen to hear how it sounds. It's been about 6 years since I've played it!

Nope. I use a Squier Affinity Telecaster in E, with hybrid 10's, and a Gibson humbucker. I'm hoping to buy the new Fender Telecaster with dual humbuckers, and a classic Telecaster look. It's fucking awesome.

Nope, not gay at all. You describe Paul Gilbert's (and a lot of other "shredder's") axe setup to the 't', and I don't consider that gay at all. (unless you ram it up a dude's ass that is) :D