Learning drums, help me get better.

Loren Littlejohn

Lover of all boobage.
Show me some videos of shit I should learn. I'm trying to get the heel toe deal down at the moment. The movement is easy, it's continuing the movement in a way that doesn't sound like 4 32nds, rest for an 8th, 4 32nds, rest...

However I find the movement logical and I get why it's the way to go for getting faster even if some power gets lost from it. It's also pretty controlled and doesn't sound like a mush of notes strung together like it used to when I tried to just spaz my muscles out in time :lol:.

But right now, I'm right at meat head and would like to challenge my brain a little more so how bout some licks to learn?

How long have you been playing? Can you read music? Are you self-taught? Are you familiar with other playing styles besides metal (jazz, funk, latin, etc)?

Sorry for all the questions, but it will help me point you in the right direction.

Skip heel toe. The people who are the best at it still fluctuate wildly. It's a gimmicky technique.

Heel up is what you need. It's the standard because it's accurate and powerful.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm on Damian on this one + what do you want to achieve?

In a meanwhile, this a nice, informative video:

Skip heel toe. The people who are the best at it still fluctuate wildly. It's a gimmicky technique.

Heel up is what you need. It's the standard because it's accurate and powerful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yY0oNl2faFI

Watched video.

He mentions getting the stroke from the ankle. This is exactly what heel toe is man. You don't get the stroke from pushing you heel into the pedal, when you bring your foot down it essentially "whips" your toe down again.

I play slower (say 120bpm 16ths or so) all heel up as it doesn't get to crazy, but going faster than that? No way, now without feeling like a spazy douche.