Macabre - guitars

Thanks very much. I'm presuming you mean the Dahmer album (I've produced two albums for Macabre to date).

As far as the overheads I think I probably used AKG 451s or 462s. It's hard to remember exactly how I placed them, as that depends on how many cymbals the drummer uses and where they are placed. It varies on every album based on that. The preamps on those would almost certainly have been SSL "E" series.

As far as the soloing, CD knew that I was a guitarist and had invited me to play something on the record, so after all his solos were complete I happily obliged. The only problem for me was the fact that the only guitar available was a right handed one (I'm left handed) so I had to do the stuff upside down. Combine the fact that the song was in 5/4, basically in F (well, in C in B tuning) and that it was about 4 in the morning at the time, and I had my work cut out for me. Still, it was definitely a lot of fun!

thanx for the detailed expl:) yes the Dahmer album

so you are more into A/B OH-placement than XY or ORTF-guy.. makes sense.. because drummers usually have more than 4 cymbals..

am I allowed to ask if you like triggering kick and stuff? (backup or in use?)

wow.. SSL E's are a bit on the cleanside? no`? I have some experience with SSL G+ pres..

thanx a lot:)

George

I use drum samples when necessary, not always.