Megadeth sound out of a Randall KH75???

NathanT

New Metal Member
Feb 2, 2011
I'm new here so please excuse me if I am posting this in the wrong place.

I am trying to get my amp to sound as close to Megadeth's sound as I can. I used to be a HUGE Metallica fan, so I recently bought the Randall KH75 amp. I have been playing guitar off and on for about 22 years. I used to play for hours every single day and was in a band for a while. But I quit playing for several years and just recently got back into it. Anyway...

I hate to say this but I wasn't a MAJOR fan of Megadeth until recently when I bought the Big 4 DVD. I didn't really listen to them until around 1992. When Countdown to Extinction came out.

I know basically every Metallica song up through the Black Album, then I quit listening to them or learning any of their songs after that album.

I recently decided to buy new gear and the KH75 is the amp I bought.

My question is, does anyone else on here have this amp? I'm not the greatest at figuring out settings on amps. And I was hoping someone else on here maybe had/has this amp and can tell me what settings you use. It doesn't have a ton of settings or anything, but like I said I suck at figuring out amp settings.

On the overdrive channels it has gain settings for channel 1 and 2 that can be set independently, then it has Bass, Middle, Contour, Treble and Volume that are shared between the 2 Overdrive channels. I leave the volume up all the way, and use the master volume to adjust how loud I want the amp to be. I don't know if I should have it set like that or not, but it sounds decent. So that's where it is set.

Can anyone give me some advice with this?

BTW, I cannot believe how KICK A** Chris is :worship:. It blows my mind. He drop kicks Kirk Hammett right square in the throat/face region as far as I am concerned. :D:yow::OMG: