Metal Friendly Scales?

Oxidised Razor Masticator

Paradox Philosopher
Feb 28, 2004
Albury, NSW Australia
www.angelfire.com
Can anyone point out a few good scales to practice, mainly for writing melodic deathmetal styled harmonies?

I have been playing guitar for about 11 years now, and have a very moderate grip on music theory. I have been writing music longer than I have been playing guitar, and always do it by ear. However, I am getting right into harmonies, in particular of the likes of Soilwork, In Flames, Arch Enemy and Carcass (Heartwork). I have been using Harmonic Minor lately and getting really nice results, but want to expand my harmonising feel and also work on more shapes for appregio's.

Thanx,

-GoaT

diminished and augmented scales are good. For arpeggios...well, wow, if you know how to write an arpeggio you should be able to think up something in your head as you're listening to it, and write the harmonic accompiniment to it, or just do the arpeggio and do the same thing, but a fifth lower or higher, always works hahaha...

does anyone know what the name is of that scale where you can combine major and minor notes so you have a lot more and your composition is neither minor or major. It's used a lot in metal, you end up with 4 consecutive frets on the guitar u can use in places etc. I read a tutorial once but didnt fully understand it.. id just like to read more about it now and see a fretboard with the notes mapped out, or make one.

This is relative to this thread and I believe it will help people like 'Oxidised Razor' who are at least trying to make metallica-style music.

Cheers,
Ryan