Metal Research

KanoaJames

New Metal Member
Feb 13, 2011
Hey, my name is Kanoa James and I am just getting into the metal scene. I currently go to the University of Denver and am enrolled in a class entitled “Heavy Metal & the Re-enactment of Modern Life” (sick title ya?) My latest paper is about you, the fans of Metal and why metal fans seem to be set apart from the wrest of music fandom.

If you have a moment, please respond to any of the following questions. Any response, even minimal would be greatly appreciated.

1. Why did you get into Metal? What is your story?
2. What is your personal favorite genre, band and what do they mean to you?
3. Could you imagine yourself without metal?
4. Where do you see yourself if you had never come across metal?
5. What is the one metal song that changed your life?
6. Being a metal fan, do you have any pet peeves about other genres or fans?

And lastly.

7. How does metal make you feel about yourself in relation to others and do you give metal an identity, or do you find an identity from metal.

Once again thank you for all you help.
Kanoa

I heard some shit metal on the radio when I was a kid, then slowly got into it and found out less popular, better bands.
atmospheric black metal, Burzum. Its all about nationalism, racism, and a hatred of the modern world to me.
Yeah, i'd probably be happier and friendlier.
Same job and life, i'd just be a bit less negative.
None really. My favorite song is My Journey to the Stars by Burzum.
Any of the bands that think using gore or graphic stuff just for the sake of being "br00tal" is cool.
Having a name like "Brutally torture innocent babies" doesn't make you cool, especially when you play shitty thrash metal or grindcore.
Also, all the anti-religion stuff is annoying now. Back in the day it was ok but now it has been used so many times its just old. Your not gonna be the next Mayhem so stop trying.

And lastly.