Modern Hardcore Mix - Please Help Me :)

HaveHeart

New Metal Member
Oct 22, 2015
Hi out there,

I put a lot of effort in this mix. What I tried is to make it sound as professional as possible.
I also mastered this track (just to get it loud). I am pretty new in the recording thing and read a lot of stuff on here and also watched the Creative Live Classes “Recording Rock Guitar”, “Recording Rock Vocals”
But what am I missing? My mix is lacking some low end I think (compared to stuff like The Ghost Inside / Stick To Your Guns). Not enough pressure overall!
Also the Drum sound is not punchy enough.
Can you probably help me ?!?!?!?!

Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/wupf3pnyitpz8bb/Waves Like Walls - Trapped Master 22.10..mp3?dl=0

Here is what I am using:
DAW: Reaper
System: Mac Mini
Interface: Apogee Duet
Recording Mic: Shure SM 58
Monitors: Yamaha HS 7
Headphones: Sennheiser HD-25

Plugins Used:
- Waves SSL 4000
- TSE X50 2.4 (Amp Sim)
- ToneBooster Track Essentials Bundle (DeEsser, Compression, EQ,….)
- Valhalla Vintage Verb
- Reaper Stock Plugins (Saturation,…)
- TSE B.O.D + TSE Tubescreamer
- EZ Drummer + Metal Machine EZX

Guitar Chain:
ESP LTD EC 400 with EMGs - > Apogee Duet - >

TSE X50 (High Quality / Stereo Mode) ->
Tubescreamer in front / Drive 0 / Level max / Tone middle / ->
Amp Settings: PreGain 2 / Lows 5 / Mids 2,5 / High 4 / Post Gain 6 / Poweramp not activated / IRs Fat Lazy Cabs XXL blended with Fat Lazy Cabs Orange Crush ->

TB EQ: Low Cut at 80 Hz / wide Digital bell -5 db in the mids around 500 Hz / Some more cuts to remove bad sounding frequenzies. ->

Sending the Guitar Tracks to a Guitar Bus which contains of this chain:
- SSL 4000 Comp (mild gain reduction 2-3 db)
- SSL EQ to remove midrangy frequenzies
- Rea Saturation (15%)

Double tracked the guitar -> one panned 100% left one panned 100 %right
Also did this with the other guitar (different Amp settings, different IRs)