Need help pickin a metal guitar

Tennyson

Feb 22, 2007
Buffalo, NY
Been playin guitar for 8 years now,when I graduated high school 5 years ago I was gifted a fender highway 1 strat so I could blues it up etc. Love the guitar, but now that I am graduating college I'm looking for a good metal guitar. I really like the tone of Chuck Schuldiner's guitar from Death, but I've always had a negative stigma associated with BC richs. Dunno why. I really liked how the schecter hellraiser felt and played at guitar center but I couldnt judge its tone very well.

Anyway, any input is appreciated, price range $600-$1000. thanks

I recommend an Ibanez or a jackson. I personally play a decent amount of death covers and I own the Ibanez XPT700 (Xiphos) which is a very great guitar that cost me about $700. I did however replace the bridge pickup with the X2n pickup that chuck schuldiner used in death. Regarding the hellraiser, if you like how it plays but you don't like the tone you can always replace the pickups to change it up a bit. I used to own a schector with passive emg's and when I bought my Ibanez I realized that the ibanez had a much better tone and I eventually sold my schector. Although I will admit the schector's floating bridge was better than the edge 3 trem of the xiphos. I plan on replacing my bridge with an original floyd rose eventually.

The BC Rich Stealth that Chuck played was a bit different to the other BC Riches, but I can see why you don't like them. The Mockingbird is the only nice shape BC Rich make IMO.

You could try some Deans too, some of the MLs might work out well for you. Schecter... not really had any experience with them apart from a quick blast on a 7 string.