New musician, gear questions!

Yarbles

New Metal Member
Dec 20, 2006
Ahoy! I'm a fairly new guitarist, having bounced between bass, guitar, bass again, selling that bass, buying another bass, buying a new guitar, etc etc over the last two years. Money problems had destroyed any desire I had to learn, but its all finally done with and I finally have the funds and time I need to dedicate myself to playing.

Any how, I'm Currently sitting with:

For my guitar setup I have an Ibanez GRX40 which is currently out of comission and a 1996-1997 MIM Fender, currently im using a marshall MG30DFX, while most reviews give this amp shit its served me well so far.

as sexy as the fender/ is I don't really get the sound out of it I want and I can't help but think about picking up this beast, ESP Viper-100 SeeThru Viper [16809] - $369.95 : Steve's Music Store, If We don't have it you don't need it

My knowledge of even setting up my EQ on the marshall and getting a sound that would suit me better is fairly limited, so if theres any tricks or tips that wouldn't require picking a new axe, i'd love to hear em! As much as ive owned guitars in the last few years, ive probably barely played with them for over 12 hours, as most of the time I planned on picking up an amp later on and never could afford it and ended up having to sell off my guitars.

Anywho, any tips/tricks/suggestions are welcome, im starting lessons in January and hope to be shredding soon. If it affects the decisions at all, I plan on playing Metal exclusively to start.

Ahoy! I'm a fairly new guitarist, having bounced between bass, guitar, bass again, selling that bass, buying another bass, buying a new guitar, etc etc over the last two years. Money problems had destroyed any desire I had to learn, but its all finally done with and I finally have the funds and time I need to dedicate myself to playing.

Any how, I'm Currently sitting with: