Paperback Swap? (Now Reading. . . .)

DarkOne

Black Belt in Sarcasm
May 2, 2002
Philadelphia
Visit site
I realized that, with the popularity of the Now Reading thread, a lot of folks might like to know about the Paperback swap site

http://www.paperbackswap.com

In case you haven't heard of it, it's a place to swap books. I've been using it for a few months now and I'm really impressed. Best of all, it's free.

Here's how it works:
  • You sign up.
  • You post the books you want to get rid of (and get a free book credit when you post 10)
  • If someone requests one of your books, you mail it out (and you pay shipping).
  • The site prints out a nice label/wrapper for you, and if you pay an extra $0.43, it'll print the postage for you (usually books are sent media mail, so they cost about $2.13 to mail.
  • When the book you mailed is received, you get a credit.
  • With your credits, you can request books from other members.
It allows you to set up a wish list, and will alert you via email when someone posts a book you have on your list. I've used it to fill in trilogies or series, or to get some obscure books I've been seeking.

If you sign up, you can say that "Darkone" referred you (I think you get credit for referrals), but even if you don't do that, you should still check it out. The site is a really great idea.

Steve in Philly

Someone put a http://www.bookcrossing.com basket on a table in one of the break rooms. I think it started out with all the books registered at bookcrossing, but now people just put whatever out there. I probably dumped 30-40 books on that after I moved. Happy to give them away if someone will read them, as I rarely read fiction a second time. Too many other books to read.