• Mike Pinella

Votes: 6 66.7%
  • Vitalij Kuprij

Votes: 3 33.3%

• Total voters

Mr. Shred-ididle

Its Chinese-Tilt ya' head
Jan 25, 2003
(WARNING: I mightbe wrong on some of the "technical keyboard therms" as I'm a guitarist)

Who do you think is better?
Personaly, I think Pinella is.

Sure Kuprij is fast (super-fast) but I can't stand his skweaky tone lately. I have "High Definition" which is very good but his other workis just shredding mastibationry. But his tone of his keyboard is awful. But hey, Pinella is not far off in speed. And I love his sound and tone (particularly in the Odessy). He also has a melodic theme to his playing and creates a mood to his solo's. Unlike Vitalij who just goes up and down appegio's and the phrijian dominant scale. And after hearing Mike P. playing that jazzy stuff in Awakinings, My fucking brains blew out of my head. Even if Vitalij can play Copan and classical stuff and harpsicord stuff, it's been done before in metal and Mike can do it aswell. Pinella is a player, Vitalij is more of a technitian.

I'm not saying Vitalij is bad, (He's very, very, very good) I'm just saying That I think Mike P is hugely underated and Vitalij is overated.

Now wadda ya think

Pinella is a *great* keyboardist, but Vitalij was a child prodigy (he was playing classical peices on Ukraine radio shows at the age of 16!!). He is also as much of a classical pianist as he is a metal/rock keyboardist, and regularly plays classical concerts. He has performed at Carnegie Hall and is also performing with the Berlin philharmonic this month. The only other metal or rock keyboardist in Vitalij's league is Jordan Rudess, and I stylistically prefer Vitalij (being the neoclassical fan that I am).