please rate my mix!

nickname009

New Metal Member
Jun 16, 2007
hey guys I posted a while ago intro-ing myself and all that but i haven't done anything till now. Sorry it's been a while, finally started mixing. This is one of the first songs I gotta work on. I JUST started mixing literally this weekend. I'm trying to go for a semi more organic/raw sound without too much compression or effects etc. (Also cause I can barely hear compression unless they're at extreme settings!) My ear isn't as developed I'm a noob. I always find it intimidating to post anything here since everybody's got such great ears. Oh yeah, no vox yet.

This song's called Lovegun. Hasn't been fully edited yet, some parts can still be tightened up. Guitars need more editing, and I'm struggling with the guitars and bass! I've been trying to get a nice distorted bass sound for more body and I've ended up with what you hear. The guitars sound crappola. WHat do you guys recommend? Whaddy'all think it needs?? THANKS in advance!

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandid=910942&content=music

Can barely hear drums bro. Also, what gear did you record guitar on? Getting the best sound pre DAW is always what you should aim for - the guitars here sound quite weak and rather tinny..

Agreed.. it's a great song and the mix is there, it's just unbalanced.

I would say turn down the bass first, it's the loudest thing in the mix.. then turn up those drums a lot till they are on par with the guitars, and then pull the bass back in the mix.. should do the trick.

Whoa, I like the bass! Sounds like a pig grunting.

I think everything sounds good just unbalanced volume wise.

Rhythm guitars are too soft, leads too loud. Drums are soft too. Bass too loud.

Share some info about the bass perhaps? I would appreciate it!

fade_2_black,