Please take a look at my planned PC system

decoys

Mar 16, 2009
Germany - Munich
Hey guys,
im rather new to recording and also new to pc specifics and stuff. As i recorded till now with a multimedia acer laptop, and it's slowing down real quick when a few plugins are involved, i want to get a new pc.
a friend of mine helped me configure this setup, cause i dont know much about pcs. yes, it should be a pc and not a mac. i would be very glad if you guys could look over it and tell me if its a good rig!

im running cubase 4 (still) btw and own a m-audio profire 2626.

Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Core™ i5-750 Prozessor
Graphics: ATI HD4350 512 MB
RAM: takeMS DIMM 4 GB DDR3-1333 Kit
CPU Cooler: Shuriken Rev. B
Power supply:Enermax PRO82+ 385W
DVD: LiteOn iHAS524
Harddisk: 1x1,5 TB
Card Reader 68in1 intern USB2

its approx. 750€

What would you change, if there is sth to change at all?
Thanks a lot for your help and a happy new year!

+ 1 to the HDs
And I like the idea of having a more powerful power suply. I'd like to recommend you the Enermax but I had a problem with mine (Noisetaker II 420W). It fried in an overload, and not only the fuse. I'm very glad with my new OCZ

Depending on what kind of work you do (if its a lot with virtual instruments, or do a lot of editing), and assuming you're running W7 not XP, I'd go for 6gb of ram instead of 4gb.

You might want to PM Ermz, he built an i7 PC, dual-boot (audio/rest) with a few HDs. Might be able to hel pyou out a bit.

yeah, im rather editing and mixing, but arent using too much virtual instruments. this system would come without any OS, so i could choose XP or Windows7, since i get it from the university i attend.
okey, i put it back on the workbench! thanks so far!

Yeah definately more than 1 HD. Also +1 to a dual boot system if you intend to use the PC for general internet/iTunes/other crap as well as audio work. I just installed 2 copies of XP on my machine and the audio side of things is absolutely singing.