Pls help: Jackson or Ibanez?

METALKIRK

New Metal Member
Feb 19, 2002
uk
Visit site
Hi there, ive been playing guitar for over 10 years and am finally looking to upgrade my guitar. I have not got a huge budget, id be looking around £550 max. The jackson guitar I have my eye on is a Jackson DKMG Dinky, so I was just wondering what is the equivalent guitar to that in the Ibanez range and which is better? what would you guys recommend? I mostly play rhythm but also do some lead; any help would be appreciated as im confused myself :) thanks

I mostly play rhythm but also do some lead; any help would be appreciated as im confused myself :) thanks

Imo, neither. For the same price you can get a PRS SE which in my experience owns any Jackson or Ibanez of the same price range.

That depends, really. What kind of genre are you playing? If you get a PRS, you're going to have to replace the pick ups soon for a really heavy sound. And the neck is thick so leads can be hard.

As for Jacksons and Ibanezes (first time I had to spell that plural), you get a thin neck, fairly good pick ups that could most likely fulfill your need for a heavy sound longer.

To Metalkirk: Please define more of what you want (sound, artists you want to sound like, etc)

I find PRS pickups WAY better than Jackson's and Ibanez'. The shredder-guitars have a really uninspired sound imo

I don't quite know my values in Euros, so I'm only guessing that the guitars he can get for that much from Ibanez and Jackson have pick ups by other companies.

Plus, PRS only makes good pick ups on models that aren't SE. I've played an SE SC and the sound couldn't compare to the Custom 22 or SC 250 I played later that day.

Of course, SE have completely different (and worse) pickups, but still, I think that they are better than the other two. I've seen PRS SE between 350$-550$, mine got 800€ but Italy is shit and on every musical instrument we get like 100% overprice.