Powerball test

laurens

New Metal Member
Feb 15, 2009
So in an effort to prove that the Powerball isn't muddy (like some stated here) I posted some clips. Guitar is straight into the Engl Powerball with a Marshall 1960AV cab. No effects, no post EQ. I used one mic connected to Yamaha Audiogram 3 with Audacity as software.

Now you may think that it is recorded in a basement, well it is! :lol: I'm really new to recording so I'm still trying out mic positions and such. Somehow the recording got a bit more high than my ears perceived when playing. Should be somewhat smoother. Don't mind the screw ups in the playing.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=925895&content=music

To be honest, you need to work on your playing first, and also that tone really doesn't fly the flag for Powerball tones IMO.

Ok, thanks. Removed one because the playing was indeed awful. What do you suggest in terms of sound improvement?

Hmm, yeah, definitely gotta agree on the playing - also, it sounds like I'm listening to it from outside the room in a hallway, lots of mids and very subdued highs/presence; what mic did you use, and where on the speaker was it?

Posted another attempt, this is harder than I imagined. Tweaked the presence and the treble. The mids (open mode) are on 7 (out of 10). Still no effects or double tracking. Changed the mic position also a bit. The mic is Audio Technica AT2020. I'm using a 4x12 slant cab. The mic is in the middle of it and 1 meter from the cab, and 1.10 meter high facing in an angle to the middle of the cab. I tried it once close to one of the upper speakers but it sounded horrible. Please let me know if this sounds better. Or should I move to one of the speakers again (which one), aiming on the cone or such? Tips are welcome!

The mic is in the middle of it and 1 meter from the cab, and 1.10 meter high facing in an angle to the middle of the cab.