Progressive Metal Mix - Feedback appreciated!

Random3

Jul 6, 2014
Cardiff, UK
www.facebook.com
Hi guys, this is my first post here but I'll try to keep it fairly short.

I am a masters student studying Music Engineering and Production, and for my major project I am recording, mixing and producing a progressive metal album of my own material.

I won't go into any detail about what processes I have applied or what recording techniques I used as I want any feedback to be from a 'clean slate' perspective.

I am happy to share any techniques I used if asked, but I will keep this initial post free from detailed information.

I am looking for feedback on the mix as a whole, but also specific instruments. The work I have done on this track I think is by far my best work I have ever done, although I am sure there is still room for improvement.

Musically and sonically the album was influenced by a variety of bands including Dream Theater, Between the Buried and Me, Protest The Hero, Periphery, Ozric Tentacles, Coheed & Cambria and various other progressive metal and rock bands.

And finally, the track is unmastered, just mixed.

Here's the link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/offlx67ku9gr84j/V - Perfect Cosmic Meltdown (WIP).mp3

NEW UPDATED MIX: https://www.dropbox.com/s/obrdn1lrjrorfhl/V - Perfect Cosmic Meltdown WIP 2.mp3
Thanks in advance!

MOST UPDATED MIX + MASTER: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6yslotq3wpa3yv6/V - Perfect Cosmic Meltdown Master.wav

I have updated the OP with a newer mix of the same track. I am very happy with this one and I feel it is basically complete and ready to be mastered. Please check it out and let me know what you think!

It sounds very nice indeed. I'm not a fan of the guitar tone but it is nicely mixed. The bass sounds very clean. Did you apply any distorsion to it ?
Cheers !
I'd be interested on trying to mix this. Do you plan on uploading the raw files ?

Thanks for the feedback dude.

I assume you are talking about the updated mix in the op?