Protools

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
EDIT: Just realized this may be in the wrong subforum. My apologies if it needs to get moved.

Hey all. Been tracking drums slowly over the past few weeks. Our bassist recently got the upgrade to PT9. I have never used it before, but obviously most DAWs are similar and different in many ways.

I'm noticing some really cool stuff. I use Reaper, and I noticed that certain things are easier in one DAW or the other. The way he makes edits to drums is..... Have drummer play the entire song through a bunch of times till we think we have enough good takes to pick apart, then he'll just copy/paste chunks of good parts into their respective places. Once in a while I'll hear a pop or glitch, but he always quickly cleans it right up. Is there something special going on in PT with just moving chunks of audio around? I'd imagine its the same as Reaper in that you have a very short crossfade at each cut?

I also really like how you can highlight sections of certain tracks whereas in Reaper, you have to actually click outside the tracks (like, in the grid) and highlight, but it highlights ALL tracks.

It seems that inverting phase isn't as easy as hitting a button, or is it? We ended up using 4 OH mics (I know, probably phase nightmare) but things are sounding ok so far, but the snare sounds thin and brittle, which I'm assuming the bottom mic will need to be inverted, as well as the front kick mic. But dudeman says he never really messes with phase, so I'm going to have to try to figure something out to let him be able to hear the difference for himself.

Anyway, I think I should install my demo of PT and try it out.

Comments, suggestions, discuss?

Personally I love Protools, workflow is great for me.

To flip phase on a track just insert a trim plugin and click the phase button on it. Or if you already have a compressor/eq inserted chances are it already has a phase button on it.