snare replacement on gravity blasts

Fragle

Jul 27, 2005
Germany
title says it all, basically....i'm getting into sample replacement, using freeware "replacer" as of right now, and everything works fine, no false hits etc. however, for some reason i can't get gravity blasts, i.e. 16th notes on the snare, to trigger properly. seems like i'm only getting 8th notes max. fast snare fills are buried/mistriggered, too.

any ideas?
thanks! :kickass:

I haven't ever done anything with gravity blasts, but I guess normal drum fills should be the same? Anyway if stuff isn't triggering right, take the original trigger sample and high pass it at like 1khz or so THEN run it into your sample replacer. The lower frequencies move slower and if you high pass it then that should leave just a nice transient which is easier to pick up that the original sample with a lot of decay in the lowend.

I have no experience in triggering gravity blasts but I would think OzNimbus is very correct :) Triggering gravity blasts via a sound replacer in the mix is just inhuman... automation will probably save you time instead of you trying to tweak and tweak and tweak for hours.

However, if you do want to tweak and not automate, you can still try to automate the parameters in your trigger software? Maybe your "hold" time is set too high, which makes the gravity blast not trigger on some hits, etc etc. So if you find a setting that works, automate the trigger software parameters during the gravity blast, and then take them back to the previous setting.

Or maybe the drummer just doesn't hit even enough to trigger the gravity blast... so I still think doing what OzNimbus said is the best, and would probably save you time in the end :)