Source Tones/Recording/Mix Critique

jheckath

New Metal Member
May 10, 2017
Hey all,

I'm a drummer who I've recently (in the last year) entered the fray of recording/engineering. It's been both frustrating and fulfilling, jury is still out on which I've seen more of at such an early point in figuring all this out.

I've lurked on here and learned a ton from so many different posters, and while this track is not metal, I was looking for some advice and criticism from those who I feel can give it. From reading and absorbing much info from here I'm confident the collective knowledge and experience here that I currently lack can give me something to build further on.

My goal is to do more within the hard rock/metal genre, but I've been taking on really any small solo projects of varying genres just to get some experience doing the work and getting repetition and methods developed.

For this particular project I played/recorded/processed drums and reamped/processed the raw guitars sent from the songwriter who wanted real acoustic drums for his tune.

You will find the raw stems of the drums and the completed mix, I will refrain from linking his guitar parts because I'm not entirely comfortable since they're his own. Also attached will be a screenshot of the DAW with visible plugins so you can see what the mix looks like under the hood.

What I'm looking for is some critique with the overall drum mix but also some input on the source tones for the drums and things you guys may hear that I need to work on. I've been experimenting with summing buses and really cutting down on unnecessary or redundant plugins, you'll notice it is similar to Nolly's recent CreativeLive Session, I can't take credit for the theory regarding the mix strategy. Took me a bit to get the routing right, but I like how simple and easy it is to not only get a picture of the entire kit but also fine tuning individual track stack buses. Still learning!