Ssssss?

Line Level Recordings

New Metal Member
Jun 29, 2009
i notice on my guitar tracks
they sound awesome

but on the tail of the high end ( 20 K) it holds a little hissy distorty tone. very subtle

its like using a shitty "distortion plug in" and you putting the drive all the way but the mix setting at 5 %
im not good at explaing stuff so i hope you understand what im trying to say

but im really frustrated
and i tried everything . . :(
i tried lowering the gain on the amp
i tried lowering the treble on the amp
i tried different settings on the pre amp . ..
i tried so many positions,
i tired an sm57 and an sm58

could it be bad converters ?
im using a firestudio project as an interface

please share your thoughts

thanks for your time:headbang:

cause im a fucking idiot...
and cause i cleaned up all the shitty takes ;)

ill put one up tomorrow
and hopefully there will still be someone interested enough to help me out

but on the top of your head , would you know what it could be ?
its a distorted sizzle ..very subtle.

If your problem area is seriously at 20k, it should be a non-issue since you don't need any frequencies that high represented in your mix anyhow. Definitely lowpass the guitars down to at least 12k or so.

... Fucking hell..
Right
Use a low-pass filter, not your traditional notch type eq.
Set the thingy to 12khz
then turn it alllll the way down
it'll roll off smoothly like a little slope.
It'll sound fairly dark but you don't really need any information above it.

Edit: And if you'd have read ahjteam's post you would have seen that he specified "lowpass filter."

It does sound like you don't know what a low pass filter is Line Level Recordings
that is a little worrying (although fine if you use them you've just never known the terminology)

Lowpass..

Slide it slowly so you cut more and more until you hear your tone change in a way you dont like and then
go back up a little bit.