Test Mix before we start recording album.

Roncore

Sep 19, 2009
We start recording our album (concept album....16 tracks, jesus).

Hardware is dual Presonus Firepods, KRK RP6's. Reaper for my DAW.

Cheap CAD pro drum mic set minus the SM on the snare. Individually miced, but that doesn't matter because my room is shit. Working on that, but for this album I'm using drum samples triggered by Drumagog.

Guitars/bass are all DI and are all Guitar Rig 4 with custom presets (yes I know, and I do have the Le and TS30, and Nick's sim). Using Kefir for Mesa Impulses.

No vocals on this test mix, just prepping some recording/mixing techniques before we start on this bitch. I've been recording my ex-band (punk) for two years now, first metalish thing I've done in ages so I'm trying to get a grasp. I'm running Waves SSL EQ/comp on the guitars and bass. The OH's have some compression and the whole kit has a little bit of reverb to kind of mix things together. Guitars are double tracked, my brother is the other guitarist along with me. Two different guitars (S520EX on my side (left), Schecter C1 for him (right)). Guitars are panned 80% both ways. The guitar's are a bit sloppy and will be tightened up in the end.

Any tips are greatly appreciated!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/324982/SKULLABYE-testmix.mp3

I have lots of troubles with getting levels and compression right.

EDIT:

New Mix.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/324982/SKULLABYE-6-23-10-MIX6-Ver2.mp3

Tons of changes, changed the Guitars to 8505 with Kefir Mesa impulses and re-recorded heavy parts. Rolled off 100hz on everything but bass and kick. Eq'd guitars and bass. Compression on everything, compressed the hell out of the bass. Added reverb to drum kit minus kick. Changed sample for Kick to lower tone. Added SSL comp on master buss to try to glue things together.

I really dig the snare - is it a sample from here?