Testing my Dual Rec through Impulses; Reason DK

BrettT

Aug 29, 2006
Austin, TX
This is my first time trying this, but I'm really digging the results, although it needs some work. Definitely came out darker than I expected due to the lack of the presence control. Next time I'll increase the treble a bit. I do like a slightly dark tone, though. Just a short, groovy riff idea.

Guitars: Schecter Blackjack with Bare Nuckle Miracle Man p'up> Digitech Bad Monkey>Mesa 3 ch DR>M-Audio FastTrack Pro>This One! impulse

Drums: Reason Drumkit 2.0 refill

Bass: Fender Deluxe 5 String Jazz>FastTrack>various plugins

Do you find the guitars a bit honkey sounding?

http://soundclick.com/share?songid=7487077

Edit:
Here's another test with different impulse and different bass eq...think it's a bit less stuffy sounding:
http://soundclick.com/share?songid=7494731

this impulse is pretty good! definatly moving in the right direction!

i think it may be a little honky, but i'm fairly certain that could be removed with a tad eq'ing, no?

sounds good otherwise!
thanks,

Yeah, definitely sounds like a Traditional Cab impulse (which it is), which is to say good but wooly/stuffy - I can still hear the Dual Rec awesomeness coming through (2- or 3-channel?), just give another impulse a try IMO, either Poidaobi's Engl Higher Presence impulse or one of CatharsisStudios' on here (haven't tried 'em yet, but he knows what he's doing with a mic and he used an almighty Recto cab!)

It's a 3-channel. I definitely need to experiement with more impulses. They have such a drastic effect on the tone.

Updated first post with new mix test. Any critique on bass, drums, guitars, whatever would be great as I'm really trying to get a good base sound for a solo project I'm about to start working on.