Thank you chris and a quistion for you if I may.

daniel stuart

New Metal Member
Jan 2, 2010
I just want to thank you for inspiring me to carry on guitaring.:headbang:
I reached a level were all I could play was slayer's stuff.

I tried a few months ago to learn a megadeth song and I just could not. Then I watch an interview with you talking about your guitaring life.

Then I took my time and I have nearly learnt tornado of souls. I am self taught and don't have the knowledge like you yet but I am working on it.

You are by far my favourite guitarist.
I have a Ibenaz sa series and finding it very comfortable and is the same shape as you use(which might give me your super powers:p). Find it the most comfy to play.

My solos sound like daves kerrys and jeff hannerman's. People who I have argued with say that they suck and I feel sometimes that I suck bec I sound like the old school thrash sound.:erk:

And they say I am a crappy guitarist bec I play like dave and the others. What is your opinion on it? It is a downer for me.

If I may - just because you sound like someone else doesn't necessarily mean that you suck. Case in point: Joe Stump sounds EXACTLY like Yngwie Malmsteen tonewise, but he doesn't suck by any means. People might not like their sound or their playing, but they just have very different tastes and opinions.

Even if you play like certain players, it just emphasizes that they are the players most influential to you. I'll probably get shit for this, especially since it's a Chris Broderick forum, but Mark Tremonti of Alter Bridge is my biggest influence and some of my phrases and riffs sound like he would have written them. Doesn't mean I want to copy him, just means he's that big of an influence. Take what you're working with now and run with it, man. If you've got the inspiration and the drive, no matter what you sound like or who you play like you can take it as far as you want to.