Tips on getting that huge KSE-ish sound

CheesusKrist

New Metal Member
Sep 6, 2014
Hey guys, complete and utter noob here in dire need of your expertise.

First of all are there any useful guides/articles that would help me achieve my desired tone?

Right now my signal chain is Ibanez RG1570->Zoom G7.1ut->TSE 808->LePou Legion->NadIR with Catharsis's impulses.

I just want to get that massive "chunky" sound, like my mix wants to hit you in the face with a sledgehammer. Every time I record 2 tracks panned L/R it sounds like a pack of squirrel nibbling at a pine nut; wafer thin and just plain awful.

This is what I'm going for. I hear mixes on here all the time that have that same "punch" ( really sorry, I wasn't kidding when I said I'm a noob, I have no idea what the correct terms are).

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
I´m more of a noob than a pro aswell but if it sounds too thin then add a good amount of mids on your amp sim and if you want a big sound try quadtracking with 2 tracks panned hard left/hard right and 2 tracks panned 75% L and 75% R - that helps to make that "wall" appear.

I´m more of a noob than a pro aswell but if it sounds too thin then add a good amount of mids on your amp sim and if you want a big sound try quadtracking with 2 tracks panned hard left/hard right and 2 tracks panned 75% L and 75% R - that helps to make that "wall" appear.

Thanks a lot man! Will definitely try it out.

Much of that sound comes from Adam's guitar playing. The 6505 and Cobra help too - they naturally blend really well.

I understand, I'm not nearly as good as either one of the guitarists from KSE but I'm not that bad either.

Also, do we have any ampsims that are modeled after the Cobra? I know the X50 v2 is a 6505 sim, but is it worth 50$ if I'm only recording for fun?

Also, do we have any ampsims that are modeled after the Cobra? I know the X50 v2 is a 6505 sim, but is it worth 50$ if I'm only recording for fun?