transcribing own songs

atilla

New Metal Member
May 22, 2003
Hi guys,

First of all, let me say I'm a really big fan of both of Ink's records, and Bobby is probably my favourite metal drummer, I'm a drummer myself, but I'm also a bit of a guitarist, mainly for writing my own songs. The problem is however, whenever I come up with something cool in my head, I find it really difficult to put it into notes, or play it on the guitar. This often ens up with me changing it into something really lame because I can't remember how the actual riff or lick went.

I don't have problems with rythyms (sp?) and time sigs, but more with notes. Can anyone give me some tips or a link to a website were I can learn this?

Thanks alot!

PS: This might not be the right forum for it, but I figured most of you guys in here are pretty advanced guitarists, so I hope you can help me!

You could try learning to sing/hum the notes whilst you play. For some, that does wonders for learning/being able to tell intervals right away.

If you know how to notate rhythm and use time sigs as you have said, and you know how to read/create guitar tabs i'd suggest either guitar pro or power tab.
When it comes down to it the only real difference between the two is that guitar pro allows you to tab out drums and use a bunch of different tracks, power tab doesn't (yet). The full version of GP (usually) costs money, whereas power tab is free.
These programs allow you to tab your work out and play it back in midi form.

The best thing is probably to learn to recognize intervals. If you teach yourself that, it will help immensely with being able to know what the notes are doing when you hear something (in your head or elsewhere). Besides that, it's one of the major aspects of improvisation, being able to know where all the intervals are from any point on the guitar. Besides that....^_^.....if you know the intervals, you'll be able to put it in any key.