Van's drumming

Necromunchkin

Lord of the Whisky
Sep 21, 2002
Arizona
Visit site
He may not be a blaster like many death metal drummers, but I don't think enough credit is given to his unique and incredibly articulate drumming style. Very solid, quality performances every album. Listening to This Godless Endeavor, I'm reminded why I consider him a favorite.

uhhhhhhhhhhh............... ok!

up1.jpg

Necromunchkin said:
He may not be a blaster like many death metal drummers, but I don't think enough credit is given to his unique and incredibly articulate drumming style. Very solid, quality performances every album. Listening to This Godless Endeavor, I'm reminded why I consider him a favorite.

AGREED BIG TIME!!!
I dont care if Van is not "As fast" as some of the Death metal drummers, he is creative and tight, LOVE his drumming skills.

I'm still getting into his style of drumming and he's really good for nevermore's music as he fits them well. I like his drumming on "The death of passion," it sounds like he's hitting the cymbals at a different time signature than the rhythm.

by the way the double bass in the chorus of "psalm of lydia" rules. Oh and you can't forget the verse drumming of "the river dragon has come," kick kick kick kick, kick-kicksnare, kickkick-kick-kkkkkkkkick...something like that, it just PUMPS ME UP!

Thats mainly why "The River Dragon Has Come" happens to be my favorite song of Nevermore. He is one of my favorites, however to be completely honest, Gene Hoglan is still above him by a bit.

bball_1523 said:
by the way the double bass in the chorus of "psalm of lydia" rules. Oh and you can't forget the verse drumming of "the river dragon has come," kick kick kick kick, kick-kicksnare, kickkick-kick-kkkkkkkkick...something like that, it just PUMPS ME UP!

TRIPLETS man.. Van KNOWS how to kick those in!