Viking reenactment fighting...

Aggressor

Einherje
Oct 24, 2002
Norway
I was just wondering if any of you Vikings were into Viking or Medieval reenactment fighting...?

Ive been fighting for about 6 months now, and I really enjoy it, there is nothing more satisfying than getting together 10-15 friends on a sunday afternoon and do some real fighting with swords and shields :)

Well anyone else into this sort of thing?

I tend to think of stuff like that as Masturbation without the payoff. I only want to be swinging a battle axe at someone if it means I get to lob their fucking head off and bury their cross in their chest.

Originally posted by spaffe
hm what's this fighting about aggressor? reenactment of battles of just some random fighting? :)

This is reenactment of battles, and everything that envolves Viking/Medieval fighting.
So we do alot of battles and alot of duells one on one (my favorite).

Reenactment fighting is way bigger in Sweden than in Norway though...a couple of weeks ago we had a weekend where we fought from friday to sunday, together with alot of Swedes and a couple of other Norwegian groups, in Halden where I fight.
We had everything you could imagine there would be in a battle (except horses ;)) icluding archers, spear men(women), infantry, people in full plate, about everything you could imagine.
And on saturday we were no less than 55 people on the battlefield at once :D
Extremly fun, though I always got killed by an archer because I used a longsword, and didnt have a shield or buckler to cover myself ;)

You dont need full plates or scale mails or anything like that to fight though, the onlt recuired equipment is gloves so that you protect your hands ;)
The weapons are blunted down so you wont loose your head or anything like that, and there are spots that you must hit on your opponent to "kill" him, the head is not one of those, if you hit him in the head, its a "headshot" and you yourself is to be reconed as dead.