Votes: 14 15.9%
  • Bass/bassist

Votes: 1 1.1%
  • Vocals/singer

Votes: 12 13.6%
  • All equal

Votes: 50 56.8%

• Total voters
I have been having this argument for years now with different musicians and obviously there are going to be votes for all concerned, but at the end of the day, which person/instument is most important overall?

I am a guitarist that can play drums as well, cant sing, and can play bass (like a guitarist, not like a bass player should) and I think the most important player/instrument for metal is the guitar/guitarist. I know everyone is important, but when it comes down to it, my heart has always been with the guitars!

I have just listened to my top 10 songs of all time and the reason I love these songs is purely for the riffage! The drums are cool and some of the bass lines are cool and the singer etc etc .......... but it is the RIFFS that draw me to any song that grabs my attention. Hence why some drummers dont agree with me and they usually end up saying its equal all round, but I just cant come to that.

So I have this scenario for them: Would you rather listen to a 3min song that has,
1. Same 4 bar drum pattern with 10 different riffs or,
2. Same 4 bar riff with 10 different drum patterns.

Then you have the poor old bass player, but I think bands like Iron Maiden w/Steve Harris, where the bass plays more of a part than in other bands, still cannot compete with the guitars overall.

Next up we have singers ......

Moving right along :heh:, what are your thoughts? Who do you think is the most important and what part/player of your favourite songs draw you to it?

I voted all equal, because you can't have one without the other.

Of course you'd have instruments that are the driving force behind the genre (guitars for most rock/metal bands, which is what I'm gonna assume this topic is about) but when you play something else like jazz, the guitarist only really comes out in leads and keys and bass are main dudes.