What we will do for tone. Post your mods and share with us.

Oct 8, 2007
K.C. (Kansas City)
I have been playing guitar for over 20 years now and have realized a long time ago that it will just be a hobby and not a profession for me, but damnit doesn't mean I can't enjoy the search for "holy grail" tone. This forum has opened my eyes to all sorts of new ideas and inspiration that made this "new" again. This weekend alone I tried the 18 volt EMG mod and also modded my SM57, TY JBroll. Both are a good addition to my fingers and are much appreciated. I have in the past also modded my 5150 with a bias adjustment and love it! I use a integrated quad of JJ power tubes. Two JJE34L's and 2 JJ6L6GC's as per a suggestion by eurobob. I love the fact that people are willing to share this info as well as fail at trying to modify something so I don't have to mess my shit up, lol. That's pretty well it, I just thought that if we could group together our resources we could get a pretty good thred going on mods. After all what would "us" the weekend warrior do without something to solder remove or tweak? P.S. I have a PDF of the 5150 bias mod and will attach soon as I hunt it down.
http://www.gearo.com/Files/5150biasmod.pdf

i haven't engaged in much modding of anything so far, aside from some pickup and tube swaps

i do have a cheap-o ribbon mic coming pretty soon though, and i'm probably going to upgrade the transformer and possibly some other components...we'll see how all that goes

Not really much of a modder myself. I had Robert Keeley mod my Ibanez TS808 reissue, which I prefer subtly to how it was before, that's about it. I'm also really happy with the sound of my EMG 85s, 89s, and 707s and have no desire to fuck around with the 18v mods, I can already get the tones I want with one battery and to me that's worth it.