Yo Ron

CorridorOfChameleons

New Metal Member
Mar 15, 2005
I got a couple important questions for you that have been troubling me for some time.

I've been playing for almost 12 years now and am respected by many and considered quite great.. but I have a guilty secret that goes unnoticed. My biggest problem is developing speed with accuracy- mainly when it comes to soloing and phrasing. I can take something and play it slow and build up to a degree, then I can play it real fast but there's this gap I miss in the middle and everytime I sit with a metronome I find it frustrating to clean up that gap where the the notes aren't consistent. What practice regimine do you feel helped you most when it comes to all areas of speed and therefore accuracy? Does it hurt to go a lot of time practicing without a mentronome? The only thing I find helping me most is picking harder and playing a certain lick slower and building up the pure stamina of the alternate picking motion in the wrist. I've been getting frustrated with the metronome and that isn't helping I'm afraid. Any help with this would be appreciated bro!

I'm not Ron, but I have a cool tip for you. If you have long fingers (like I do), try to pick not using your wrist, but only your fingers. It can be difficult at the beginning, but at the end you can go waaay faster than using your wrist. If you want a small video or something like that, drop me a line, I'll be happy to help you.

make a video... that would be pretty sweet.
anything for guitar players to see is fun. id like to see it.

theres exceptions to rules in everything.
from throwing footballs to playing guitar.

Using your fingers will, in my experience, quite possibly ruin it all for you, and it'll be a bitch getting back to using your wrist only.

Then again, not everyone plays the same. There's not a single guitar teacher that would approve of Pat Metheny's right-hand/picking technique for instance in one of his students...