effing 003 rack+ (need help for my first label release)

brianhood

No Care Ever
Everything about the 003r+ has been awesome so far. I purchased it before i knew anything about the hardware side of things( i just knew i needed 8 pre's to record drums, and i wanted pro tools). I'm still learning, which is why i need some help...

I just booked my first label release(for Victory Records:headbang:) and i need to get a new 2 channel mic pre for vox and overheads. Unfortunately from what i've read, you can't bypass any of 8 pre's on the 003r+. I still have the option of adat/lightpipe, or spdif, but i have no clue if either of those options would be as good as being able to bypass channel 4-8 and using whatever pre i want(like you can do on the regular 003r).

what would you guys do, and are there any high end pre's you recommend for adat/lightpipe? What are the pro's and cons of each of my options?

I thought about just buying a regular 003r and selling off my 003r+ or maybe just buying a cheap 002r off ebay

I'm gonna jump the gun and really recommend this:

http://www.mercenary.com/apia2ddu312m.html

2ch API + awesome conversion, via SPDIF. that gives you 10 pres total and two killer pres for OH/gtrs/bass/vox

+1 The best option for what you want and for the cash

you also can buy a Audient 8 channel adat 1he
GREAT UNIT!!!!!!!

But you need a clock cabel too. The 003 has a clock so the cabel is enough to synch them together.

I would personally go with a Rme adi-8 (kinda expensive) then just add whatever preamps you want and have great a/d conversion. Ive also been looking at Rme adi-2 and getting like a Vintech Dual 72 or Api lunchbox and just have 2 channels of great a/d conversion. Really the Rme-adi-8 and preamps might be out of your price range but I got a couple Label projects (Earache and I Surrender) coming up as well and Ive been looking at these options for my 002. Though that Api a2d looks nice!