£310

Jibboom

Zang!
Dec 26, 2006
Wales
Hey!
First off, merry christmas to everyone here! Anyways, I've managed to gather £310 to get me started recording, which I know isn't much. So, I don't know what to get apart from a SM-57, and myabe some effects; I have no experience in the recoring world so stay with me if this sounds shitty to your ears. . .

Option 1:

SM-57 - Behringer FCA-202 - Yamaha MG Mixer

Option 2:

SM-57 - Digidesign M-Box Mini/M-Box 2

Option 3 :

Krank Distortus Maximus - SM-57 - Yamaha MG Mixer

I really don't know, and another option is the RE-AMP. Any info or suggetions on which brands to look out for is greatly appreciated, and you can push my quoted price a little, itmay rise in the following weeks.

Thanks!
Jib

Well I'd suggest the main things you need to think about are

Getting sound into your computer
Getting sound out of your computer

So aside from your 57, all you really need to get started is an audio interface (soundcard) and some monitors.
The quality of your mixing is probably more dependant on your monitors than anything else, particularly at this level, so it'd be worth throwing as much as you can afford at these - I'll have to let the other guys here fill you in on what to look for in your price range, I only know stuff that's a bit more expensive.
For your interface, I assume you only want 1 or 2 inputs and 2 outputs, but make sure you get something with a serviceable mic preamp in (unless you want to buy one seperately). Something like the behringer you mentioned would work fine, or an m-audio audiophile. Then for a preamp you could use an m-audio audiobuddy maybe, or presonus tubepre.

That's just the obvious stuff that springs to mind, I'm sure the rest know some other bargains I've missed - good luck, and welcome!

Well I'd suggest the main things you need to think about are

Getting sound into your computer
Getting sound out of your computer