Self made 5-string bass(neck-thru)

Progbass

Oct 18, 2002
Finland
Visit site
Ok folks, my time in arts/crafts school at luthier department is soon finished and this is my final work there, here's some specs and pics.

Alder body with bubinga top
5 piece neck of maple and mahogany
Ebony fingerboard
Kent Armstrong bass soapbars with passive electronics(volume, blend, tone)
34'' scale and 24 frets

I can't play the pictures, but the pictures show BRILLIANT! work. Awesome! I love the knobs and other details.

Not that I've gone through luthiery school, but I'm itching to make my own as well. I've been saying that for two years now... but I'll scratch that itch one of these days.

I can't play the pictures, but the pictures show BRILLIANT! work. Awesome! I love the knobs and other details.

Not that I've gone through luthiery school, but I'm itching to make my own as well. I've been saying that for two years now... but I'll scratch that itch one of these days.

While the school teached me alot about using machines and handtools etc. One could make as good work as self learned guitar maker. I think more important thing is to get good tools needed for that job(bandsaw, plane, router and some kind of sanding machine etc) and you will already get far with those. And since u can read alot about it from net too, it wouldn't be a problem. So yea I recommend...it's just a good feeling when u test your own instrument and if it plays and sounds good u know u were succesfull.

Thanks for your comments all!

Wow cool, I've always wanted to do this kind of a thing myself and I've always been interested in lutherie in different types of instruments. Which school did you attend?

Two words for those inspired to get results that look as good as this:

Hand scraper.

Essentially a flat rectangle of sharpened metal, this tool will outdo any machine if used properly, and that's how violins were made hundreds of years ago.